Missy Cosplay: Part the Fifth (The Braid)

I’ve discovered one thing I hate more than gimp braid.  Running out of gimp braid.

I’d bought a 10m card, thinking that would be plenty for the whole outfit.  And it probably would have been, if it hadn’t been for the section that unravelled and needed to be replaced, and there being a flaw in the final length that rendered it unusable.

No problem, I thought.  I’ll buy some more from the same supplier.  Except I went back to them to find they’d sold out.  Much cursing ensued, and I spent quite a bit of time trying to find a replacement that would be identical or close enough that I could get away with it. You would not believe how much variation there can be in a simple 15mm wide scroll gimp braid.

Given time pressures, and the challenges of unpicking the existing braid, which is now heavily secured into seam allowances to stop it fraying, I’d rather have a close match even if it’s not perfect.  I can always come back later and replace the other sections so it all matches.   But I’ll still have to rip out where I’d tacked the original braid onto the collar and the body of the coat – which took me several episodes worth of House of Cards – and tack on the new braid.  I want it to at least be consistent where I’m using it.  So I ordered two lots to try and get a close match.

Conscious of time, while I was waiting for it to arrive I also started making the skirt (which I’ll cover in a later post).

So here’s what arrived in the post:

IMG_1776

The one at the top is the original braid.  The others are the possible replacement options.

You’ll see neither has the internal channel of the first braid.  I think I marginally prefer Bachelor No 2 (the bottom braid), as it has a sheen and definition closer to the original.

I have 45m of it.  Do you think that will be enough?!

2 thoughts on “Missy Cosplay: Part the Fifth (The Braid)

Leave a Reply

