FO: Don’t Drink The Water

I’ve posted before about Third Vault Yarns.  Lola is fast becoming one of my favourite indie dyers, both for her amazing eye for colour and her playful geekiness.

Earlier in the year Lola decided to commemorate the discovery of water on the planet Mars with a cheeky Doctor Who inspired colourway called Waters of Mars.  She test-dyed some skeins of yarn and put the samples up on Facebook for us to comment on.  I’m not normally a fan of greens, but I instantly fell in love with this skein and Lola kindly sold me her sample.

The yarn is Lola’s Echo DK base.  It’s a squooshy, bouncy, pure merino that’s a joy to work with.

It’s the mark of a fantastic dyer that not only did I fall in love with a colour scheme I wouldn’t normally go for, but pretty much as soon as it arrived with me I had a pattern picked out, had wound the yarn and cast on.  Rarely has it been plainer to me what a skein of yarn wants to be: Don’t Drink The Water.


The pattern for these fingerless mitts is Magnolia, by Susan Pandorf.  I love the lace detailing and the picot edging, and the way it shows off the beautiful dyeing.  I’m pretty fussy about the thumbs on mitts, and these are perfect.  The pattern has separate instructions for both right and left hands, with proper gusseted thumbs.

These will be perfect for the colder weather coming.

Leave a Reply

