Missy Cosplay: Part the Fourth (The Sleeves)

I got an email two days ago saying that there are fifty days to go until the event I plan to wear my costume at.  Gulp.  Better pick up the pace.

My coat now has sleeves, which is a big piece of progress.

IMG_1761
More of the evil gimp braid

Most of the work was in the cuffs.  As well as assembling and braiding them, they had to be attached to the sleeves.  Because I’m not lining the jacket, I needed to fasten off the raw edges of the seam joining the cuff to the sleeve somehow.  In particular, I can’t rely on the ends of the braid not fraying, unless they’re secured somehow.  So I’ve finished off the raw edges with some grosgrain ribbon sewn to the seam allowance and then hemmed to the sleeve.  This should hide and protect the raw edges.

IMG_1766
Marvel at my wonky seams and rough hemming.

The sleeves themselves went into the jacket a treat.  I’d been slightly worried about them not fitting, given that they’re from a completely different pattern, but there was no problem at all.  I gathered the sleeve heads and they’ve gone in beautifully.

IMG_1762Next step, is the collar.  It’s going to require some quite complicated sequencing to work out in what order to add the braid and sew the pieces together.  More on that in the next post.

One thought on “Missy Cosplay: Part the Fourth (The Sleeves)

Leave a Reply

