March 2015 – Books I’m excited about

Just a quick post to flag a couple of newly published books I’m particularly looking forward to reading:

A Darker Shade of Magic – V E Schwab

I got a 150 page sample of this novel via NetGalley.  I wasn’t familiar with V E Schwab’s work, but the sample left me very excited to read both this and her earlier novel, Vicious.  Darker Shade is set in parallel Londons, with travel between them limited to only a handful of people born with a special talent.  Mysteries abound, the setting and characters are vibrant and Schwab can clearly tell a great story.

The Death House – Sarah Pinborough

Pinborough is another writer new to me, but she comes with a great reputation.  I was lucky enough to hear her read an extract from this novel shortly before it was published and it sounds thoughtful and compelling, with shades of Never Let Me Go.  And even better – it’s on offer on Kindle for £1.99 at the moment.

Leave a Reply

